Music Educator Award

In 2016 the Rockford Symphony Orchestra created the Outstanding Music Educator Award to recognize an outstanding music educator in our community.

Current, full-time educators in Winnebago, Boone, Ogle, Stephenson, and Rock counties who teach music in public or private schools are eligible to be nominated. The award will alternate each year between elementary and secondary teachers.

In the 2017/18 Season the RSO will be recognizing a secondary teacher.

Congratulations to the 2018 Award Nominees
  • Colleen Bartimoccia, Boylan High School
  • Sarah Byrnes, Rockford Environmental Science Academy
  • Rick DeRango, Guilford High School
  • George Espino, West Middle School
  • Jeremiah Kramper, Hononegah High School
  • Janice Mitchell, Winnebago Middle School
  • Philip Vermillion, Belvidere North High School

The 2018 Outstanding Music Educator Award is generously sponsored by:

Nominees should embody the following qualities:

  • Demonstrates passion for music education and is a leader in the music education community
  • Has a documented successful music education program and his/her school
  • Makes a measurable difference in the lives of their students

The nomination must include information from the nominator as to how their candidate embodies the qualities of the award, as well as a letter of support from another peer or administrator of the candidate. This award will be reviewed by a committee made up of RSO board members, members of the musical community, and community members at large.

The award winner, and two honorable mentions, will be announced at the RSO’s annual gala each Spring.

The winner will receive:

  • An invitation for two to the RSO’s Golden Ball
  • A recognition plaque
  • $250 to spend on classroom supplies
  • $250 to use for personal professional development
  • Two subscriptions to the RSO’s Classics Series concerts

The honorable mentions will receive:

  • A recognition plaque
  • Two Compose Your Own Three subscription packages

Nominations for the 2017/18 Outstanding Music Educator Award are now closed. The Winner will be announced at the RSO's Golden Ball on March 24, 2018.


Past Winners:

2017: Mary Shore, Johnson Elementary School

2016: Lisa Eaton, King Elementary School

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInTweet about this on Twitter