Dreams of the Fallen

November 08, 2014 - 7:30 pm
Jeffrey Biegel, piano and the Mendelssohn Chorale

Coronado Performing Arts Center
314 N. Main St. / Rockford, IL

CoronadoSeatingPlan 2


Side Orchestra: $22
Upper Balcony: $38
Rear Orchestra: $46
Front Orchestra: $60
Lower Balcony: $60

Student tickets (22 and under): $7
Veterans of the armed forces are invited to attend for free.

Click Here to purchase tickets for the Pre-Concert Prelude Dinner.

On the Program:
Adagio for Strings
Jake Runestad Dreams of the Fallen
     Jeffrey Biegel, piano and the Mendelssohn Chorale
Dvořák Symphony No. 5 in F major, op. 76

Program Notes      Guest Artist Bio      Note from the Music Director

Rockford native Jake Runestad calls his Dreams of the Fallen “A Musical Response to War”, which seeks to express life through the eyes of a soldier, both during combat and after returning home. The RSO has co-commissioned this powerful work, featuring pianist Jeffrey Biegel and the Mendelssohn Chorale. Barber’s Adagio for Strings, written in 1936 and a familiar icon of mourning and cathartic pathos, opens the program. Dvořák’s Fifth Symphony offers a bucolic and cheerful antipode, displaying the young Czech composer’s emerging confidence in his talent.

Graciously Sponsored by:OSF_SaintAnthonyMC_b

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInTweet about this on Twitter